How to erase mac hard drive and start over

Lucian Lees. You didn't re-install OSX. You have to go to Safari default app on a Mac , and get a browser, like Chrome. Yes No. Not Helpful 1 Helpful 8. During start up?

How to Delete Everything on a MacBook | POPSUGAR Tech

You didn't re-Install OSX. Not Helpful 3 Helpful Not Helpful 0 Helpful 2. You don't need to reinstall anything; if, for example, you are selling it. If you are still keeping it, it's your choice. Not Helpful 0 Helpful 1. You have to wipe that drive. The only thing you would be able to wipe are iCloud files from another computer.

What should I do?

Erase all data from Macbook Pro

Hold it down as soon as you see the Apple symbol. Keep holding it and don't let go. Not Helpful 2 Helpful 2. Yes, it would.


  • saya no uta download mac.
  • Looking to wipe your laptop? Here’s how to restore a Mac to its factory settings.
  • flight simulator for mac os x 10.4!
  • 8 Steps to Reset Your Mac to Factory Settings [Tutorial].
  • Securely erase a Mac hard drive.

If you erased your Macbook Air, everything on it would disappear, including the Microsoft Word installation. Not Helpful 1 Helpful 0. Unanswered Questions. How do I reboot after wiping the data from my MacBook Pro? Answer this question Flag as Flag as I did everything but after erasing I restarted the Mac and After restarting the Mac it shows the prohibition sign. Do I need to insert the cd which I don't have?

How do I access security options on my Mac? What if I don't have the installation disk? Utilizing Recovery Vault increases your chances of recovering important data which will be erased during a factory reset.

The ultimate checklist before you reset MacBook Pro

This means that recovering lost or deleted data is much more complicated on these types of drives. There are a few handy steps you should take before you proceed to reset your Mac to factory settings. Please see our handy tips below:. There are a few other common applications which may also need to be deauthorized such as purchased Adobe products think Illustrator, Acrobat, Photoshop, etc.

You or someone else may have accidentally reset your Mac to factory settings or you may not have been aware of what a factory reset really does before performing one.

Important files and folders will be deleted from your computer after a factory reset. Disk Drill utilizes powerful scanning technology to recover remnants of files from your drive. The faster Disk Drill is run after a factory reset the better the chances are for optimal file recovery. You can run a scan to detect which files can be recovered at no charge with Disk Drill Basic Edition.

To get started:. Pro Tip: This is also the best way to find files that have been lost or deleted for long periods of times. Depending on how you started Recovery Mode, you may be presented with the option to start Disk Utility right away, as seen above. If not you can find Disk Utility in the menu bar: If your Mac has a solid state drive, you can skip this part: Now move the dial up, to randomly write data over your entire drive.

If you opted to wipe your drive securely, this might take a while—30 minutes to an hour is not unreasonable for one pass. If you choose three or five passes, you might want to leave this running overnight.

How to Reset Your Mac to Factory Settings

With your information wipe complete, you are now ready to reinstall macOS. The installation process will begin. Choose the Macintosh HD you named earlier.